Join Us

Healing Suffering with Gratitude: A Journey to Wholeness Through Meditation with Dr. Michele Chaban

member events Dec 12, 2023
mindfulness, meditation, gratitude, wholeness, healing suffering, michele chaban

Join us for an enriching session on the transformative power of mindfulness and meditation, featuring a talk and practice led by the esteemed Dr. Michele Chaban. This event will delve into the philosophy of 'haelan' – the art of healing and making whole – an alternative stance to curing or ‘curare’. Making whole or ‘haelan’ is an attitudinal stance one can take to one's own being or that of the world, in all its brokenness. Dr. Chaban will guide us through a healing body scan meditation infused with gratitude, a technique she has effectively utilized with her clients, their families, transdisciplinary teams, and in her personal journey of living with spinal injuries for over 50 years.

In this event, you will:

  • Gain insights into the role of gratitude in holistic healing.
  • Experience a guided healing body scan meditation led by Dr. Chaban.
  • Engage in an interactive Q&A with Dr. Chaban to explore deeper aspects of mindfulness and how to apply it in your setting.

Thursday December 14, 2023 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM ET / 1:00 - 2:00 PM PT / 9:00 - 10:00 PM GMT / 10:00 - 11:00 PM CET

NOT A MEMBER? Gain access to this event with a FREE TRIAL MEMBERSHIP >>>


Featured Speaker: Dr. Michele Chaban MSW, RSW (Retired), PhD

Dr. Michele Chaban MSW, RSW (Retired), PhD, is a luminary in the field of mindfulness and healing. As the founder and former director of the University of Toronto's AMM-MIND program, which has been influential for 19 years, Dr. Chaban has made significant contributions to the field of mindfulness and its application in clinical settings.

With a career spanning over four decades in hospice and palliative care, Dr. Chaban's pioneering work in utilizing mindfulness and mindfulness meditation has proven instrumental in reducing medication load and alleviating suffering among her clients, their family members, and healthcare teams. Her dedication to this practice extends beyond her professional life, as it has been an essential part of her personal journey in managing and living with severe spinal injuries from a young age. Her resilience and commitment to mindfulness have enabled her to navigate through intense pain and mobility challenges, awaiting advancements in science for improved health outcomes.

Dr. Chaban's experience and insights into mindfulness as a "living meditation" offer a profound perspective on healing and well-being, making her a highly respected figure in the field and an inspiring speaker for this event.

Join our weekly newsletter for insightful articles and free events

Be the first to learn about upcoming FREE events, receive early bird pricing for courses and stay in touch with weekly newsletters!