Join Us

Practice Gathering: Healing Physical and Emotional Pain with Loving-Kindness

member events Oct 03, 2023

Please join us as we welcome Allen Stevermen, focused practice pain physician and mindfulness teacher, to explore the impact of a loving-kindness practice amidst physical and emotional challenges. This event introduces a loving-kindness practice that focuses internally toward both physical pain and emotional pain, to promote and enhance intrinsic healing power. Whether you're personally seeking relief from pain or looking to share these tools with your community, this practice gathering will offer an experience of and insights into a trauma-informed approach to loving-kindness.

What to expect:

  • Introduction and Context: Allen will offer insights into this Loving-Kindness practice and its application in working with chronic pain and how it also applies to emotional pain.
  • Guided Practice: You’ll be invited to experience a 15-20 minute guided loving kindness meditation.
  • Debrief and Discussion: After the practice, we'll gather to reflect on the practice and its applications. Allen will highlight the importance of trauma-informed approaches in Mindfulness-based work such as with this practice and how it weaves through pain and suffering management.

Tuesday, October 17th from 4:00 - 4:45 PM ET / 1:00 - 1:45 PM PT / 9:00 - 9:45 PM GMT / 10:00 - 10:45 PM CEST

Not a member? Gain access to this event with a free trial membership >>>


Featured Speaker: Dr. Allen Steverman MD, CCFP, FCFP

Dr. Allen Steverman is a physician with a focused practice in chronic pain and delivers several programs per year in Mindfulness-Based Chronic Pain Management (MBCPM) in both French and English in Quebec, Canada. He is an attending physician at the Pain clinic of the Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal, an assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine at the Université de Montréal and adjunct professor in the Department of Family Medicine at McGill University. He teaches and is course director for the Mindful medical practice course for second year medical students at McGill University, providing a clinical focus on the combination of mindfulness and congruent relating, including an exploration of congruent communication.

Join our weekly newsletter for insightful articles and free events

Be the first to learn about upcoming FREE events, receive early bird pricing for courses and stay in touch with weekly newsletters!